Troubleshooting Salesforce

This troubleshooting guide is designed to help you with common questions or issues you may encounter when using Salesforce as a data source.

For further assistance, please send an email to our Support team at support@ortto.com or lodge a support ticket from your account:

  1. In the left-hand navigation drawer of your Ortto account, click Support.

  2. On the How can we help? page:

    1. Under Quick links, click Submit a support ticket.

    2. Populate the Submit a support ticket form and click Submit ticket when you are done.

Disconnect and delete the data source

You must disconnect and archive a data source before you can delete it.

Disconnecting a data source from Ortto will stop new data from the data source merging with the CDP.

Learn about disconnecting, archiving and deleting a data source under Managing data sources.

Data source already connected

Disconnect, archive, and delete the existing Salesforce connection before attempting to connect again; the existing data source must be deleted.

Connect more than one Salesforce account

Ortto can connect to more than one Salesforce account at a time. You may wish to do so if you have 2 Salesforce accounts, for example, with a contact named John Smith in both Salesforce accounts. By connecting both of your Salesforce accounts with your Ortto account, Ortto will store John Smith as 1 person (contact) in your CDP. This will help you see John Smith’s activity all in once place, as you can view John Smith’s profile and see activity from both of your Salesforce accounts.

To connect to another Salesforce account, log in to the Salesforce account you wish to connect, then repeat the steps outlined in Connect from Ortto.

Salesforce data source still displays as 'syncing' after x minutes/hours

Depending on the amount of records in your Salesforce account the initial sync may take up to several hours in some cases.

How do I backfill Salesforce field data?

If you select a new/additional Salesforce field to sync to Ortto (under Data sources  Salesforce  Salesforce fields), the field will only be populated with data from new (future) updates.

If you wish to backfill the field data, you can select Backfill Salesforce fields, which will populate data for the newly-added Salesforce fields against existing contacts (people) in your CDP. You can access the backfill feature two ways:

  • On the Data sources page, by clicking the more more icon next to your Salesforce account, then Backfill Salesforce fields.

  • In the Salesforce data source view, under Actions  Backfill Salesforce fields.

For example, say you have contact ID data populated in your Salesforce account but you did not set up your Salesforce integration in Ortto to capture contact ID field data. You can add the contact ID field in Data sources  Salesforce  Salesforce fields. Once you have done so, in the Salesforce view, select Actions  Backfill Salesforce fields to backfill the contact ID data for your existing contacts.

  • The Backfill Salesforce fields feature only populates data for contact fields.

  • Backfilling Salesforce fields will put the Salesforce data source into a syncing status, which will turn off any journeys or playbooks (because the data source is not in a connected state). You will need to switch these campaigns back on.

My Salesforce selective sync is missing updates for contacts or leads

If you configured your Salesforce data integration to selectively sync Salesforce data using filter conditions to capture only contacts, the sync will filter out leads (and vice versa). As such, you will not be able to find data on leads in your CDP, for example, because leads do not have contact fields in Salesforce.

If you wish to capture both contacts and leads, your filter conditions will need to be configured to capture both record types, using an OR operator. For example, the filter conditions Primary object name is Contact OR Primary object name is Lead, and group those conditions with any additional contact or lead field conditions as required.

Learn more about grouping conditions and AND/OR operators in Working with filters.

How do I send data from Ortto to Salesforce?

There are two ways in which you can send data from Ortto to Salesforce:

  • Create a journey with Action shapes that update object records, such as an action to change a campaign’s status. Learn more about Salesforce actions.

  • Select up to 5 activities to sync to Salesforce. This creates custom objects in your Salesforce account with the same names as the activities selected in Ortto.

Syncing Ortto activities to Salesforce

To send Ortto activities to Salesforce:

You must register a namespace in Salesforce before you can begin to send activities from Ortto.

Once the namespace is registered, you need to select activities to sync from Ortto twice: firstly to install the package required to enable the sync, then again when the package is successfully installed to configure and save the activities to sync.

The instructions below detail these requirements.

  1. Begin by logging into your Salesforce account and navigate to Setup  Apps  Packaging  Package Manager.

  2. Under Namespace Settings, click Edit.

  3. At step 1, Register your namespace, populate the field and check availability.

  4. At step 2, you do not need to choose a package name, just click Review, then Save. Once the namespace is saved, then you can return to Ortto to select the activities to send.

  5. In your Ortto account, navigate to Data sources  Salesforce  Sync Ortto activities to Salesforce.

  6. Choose at least 1 activity then click Save.

  7. On the Install Ortto package and setup organization namespace pop-up, click Install package.

  8. Log in to Salesforce.

  9. In the package installation, select Install for all users.

  10. Once installed, you will see the package in your Salesforce account under Setup  Apps  Packaging  Installed Packages.

  11. Once the package is successfully installed, return to Ortto and navigate to Data sources  Salesforce  Sync Ortto activities to Salesforce.

  12. Choose up to 5 activities then click Save to save your selection.

    The activities you selected will be synced to Salesforce during the ongoing data merge.