This page describes how to manage conversations in the Talk inbox, including conversation statuses, audio conversations (calls), agent ratings, group conversations, and agent conversation options.
For details on creating conversation messages, read Create a conversation message.
Conversations can have 3 states: Open, Snoozed, or Closed.
Only an agent can set a conversation as Closed, at which point the contact/visitor will be notified in the talk widget and will be sent an email containing the conversation transcript.
When an agent closes a conversation:
- the conversation will disappear from All, My inbox and Unassigned inboxes (and from the team view if teams are enabled), as these inboxes only contain open conversations.
- an Undo button will be temporarily available for the agent to quickly reopen the conversation. If the agent does not use Undo then they can reopen the conversation from the Closed view by clicking Reopen in the conversation.
A contact/visitor can reopen a conversation by replying to the conversation transcript email. When a conversation is closed for a second time, only the new messages are emailed in the transcript. The email subject is the same, so that their email provider threads the two transcript emails into a single conversation.
Create a message
Learn about creating conversation messages, including comments and AI suggestions at Create a message.
Audio conversations (calls) and screen-sharing
During a live chat (when the contact/visitor is online), an agent can start an audio conversation (call) by clicking Actions > Call <contact name>.
The contact is then presented with the options to accept or reject the call.
Once the call is underway, either the agent or the contact can initiate screen-sharing by clicking the screen share icon.
During screen-sharing, a contact or agent can expand or contract their shared screen view by clicking the screen icon.
Agents and contact can also mute/unmute their own voice using the microphone icon.
When enabled at Settings > Inbox > Advanced, the Talk messenger widget provides the contact/visitor with a rating widget so they can rate their experience.
The widget allows the contact/visitor to provide an icon rating plus an optional text response.
The rating widget will only be sent once, the first time the conversation is closed. If the conversation is re-opened then closed again, the rating widget won’t appear.
If the contact/visitor did not rate the conversation in Talk messenger, they will have a chance to do so when they receive the conversation transcript via email, as the ratings widget will be included.
Group conversations consist of an agent, a primary contact, and one or more secondary contacts. The primary contact is usually the contact who initiated the conversation, and secondary contacts are people who were added when or after the conversation started.
Group conversations can be created either:
- when an agent adds a contact to an existing conversation, or
- if a secondary contact responds via email to a conversation initiated by the primary contact (e.g. the secondary contact was CC’d into the email or it was forwarded to them).
Agent conversation options
Agents can access conversation menu options via the Actions button at the top of the conversation.
This menu allows you to:
- Snooze a conversation for a set time period.
- Quiet close (soft close) the conversation.
- Get a shareable link for the conversation.
- Mark the conversation as spam.
- Edit conversation members.
- Download a transcript of the conversation.
The quiet close (soft close) option allows you to close a conversation without notifying the customer (they won't receive an email about the close conversation).
This is helpful in situations where a customer has started more than one conversation on the same topic or issue, and you want to close the extra conversations so you can keep the discussion within one conversation.
Mark as spam
When you mark a conversation as spam, it will move the conversation to the Spam view. All future conversations created by the same email address will be marked as spam. This can be undone by marking the conversation as Not spam.
Edit conversation members
This section allows you to control the members of a group conversation.
Use the … more icon next to a contact’s name to view them in the CDP, remove them from the conversation, or make them the primary contact.
Click Add to add another contact to the conversation.
Contacts who are added to the conversation, either via the agent conversation options or via email (such as being CC’d in a conversation reply email) will also receive email transcripts of the conversation.
Download conversation transcript
When you download a conversation transcript, you can choose whether you want to include internal comments.
The transcript will be sent to your email address with a link to download it as a .csv file.
NOTE: If you download a transcript of a conversation that has hidden messages, they will be included in the transcript.
Tags at the top of a conversation are related to the conversation only, and do not appear in the contact’s view like tags in the contact details panel do.
These tags are useful for adding conversation-specific context, and can be useful as search terms and for building custom views.
To add a tag, click the add icon (+). The tags will be displayed according their priority (high priority tags listed first).
Click New tag to create and add new tag. The new tag will be added to your tag manger, which you can access by clicking Manage (or from your account, in the left-hand navigation drawer at More > Tags).
Learn more about creating and managing tags.