Email and templates
The Email and templates section is where you can access the settings to manage your default sender information, email domains, subscriber opt-in methods, email limit, default email header and footer settings, and preview the email preference center.
At Settings > Email and templates > Email > Opt-in method, you can determine what kind of notification a new subscriber receives (if any).
Remember that in most cases, new contacts added to your CDP, such as via a data source connection or a capture form submission, are automatically subscribed to receive email messages (some data sources excepted).
Select one of the following options:
- Disable opt-in notification. When a contact becomes a subscriber, they will not receive an email to tell them that they are subscribed.
- Single opt-in (an email is sent notifying the subscriber of opt-in). When a contact subscribes via a capture widget, they will receive an email confirmation that includes an unsubscribe link and your email address so they can contact you about the subscription if required.
- Double opt-in (an email is sent to confirm the subscription). When a contact is added to your CDP via a capture widget, they will receive an email asking them to confirm their subscription. The person will not be subscribed if they do not click the confirmation button. Additionally, the email will contain your email address so they can contact you about the subscription if required.
NOTE: The subscription confirmation link sent within the double opt-in email does not expire.
This setting limits the number of emails a person can receive in a given window. It helps prevent subscribers receiving too many emails and reduces the likelihood of them unsubscribing.
By default the email limit is to set to prevent subscribers from receiving more than 1 email every 16 hours.
You can also stop email being sent on specific dates. This is useful to avoid sending email on certain holidays such as Christmas day.
What happens when the limit is reached?
What happens when an email limit is reached depends on the campaign type:
- Email campaign or playbook: When you attempt to send an email from a single-send email campaign or a playbook and the subscriber has already received an email during the email limit window we will automatically "skip" them and the email will not be sent.This is shown in both the activity of the subscriber and the campaign report.
- Journey campaign: When you attempt to send an email from a journey and the email limit is reached, that person will wait at the email shape until the relevant time has elapsed (e.g. the 1 email per 16 hours limit has passed). After this time, the email will be sent.
How do I stop sending email on specific dates?
- Navigate to Settings > Email and templates > Email.
- Find Email limit.
- Select the option Prevent automated playbook and journey messages from being sent on specific dates.
- Click Add a date and select the relevant date.
Can I override this setting in certain circumstances?
Currently, the way to override email limits is to mark an email message as transactional. The transactional feature is designed for messages directly related to actions, such as sending a customer an order confirmation message directly after they’ve purchased an item in your store.
You can mark a journey or playbook email message as transactional by viewing the message and editing the People can receive this message setting to select This email is transactional.
Alternatively, you can send transactional email via Ortto’s API.
Sending transactional email requires prior approval from Ortto, and should only be used for genuinely transactional email, as it will send irrespective of a person’s subscription status. Learn more about transactional email at Making journey and playbook campaign messages transactional.